What Happens When You Archive A Chat?

Can someone see if you star a message on WhatsApp?

Only you can see messages that you’ve starred, whether in a group chat or a conversation with one other user.

If someone stars a message, you won’t be notified..

What happens when you mute someone on WhatsApp?

When you mute someone on WhatsApp, they will still be able to send you messages, see your status/last seen, and your profile picture. … When they send you a direct message, that’s when you won’t get any type of notification.

How can I be invisible on WhatsApp?

Select “Settings” from the menu at the bottom of the screen.Tap “Settings” at the bottom. Meira Gebel/Business Insider. … Tap the icon resembling a key to access your account. … Select “Privacy” from the list of options. … Select the “Last Seen” option at the top. … Make a selection to hide your WhatsApp status.

How can I hide someone on WhatsApp without blocking them?

Go to Menu Button > Settings > Account > Privacy > Blocked Contacts. Then click on the Add icon in the top right and select the contact to block. This way the person will never see your activities on WhatsApp.

How can I hide WhatsApp chat without archive?

Steps to hide WhatsApp chat without archive Click on hide [See the screenshots for reference]. As you click on the Hide option you will get pattern lock screen. Setup password, this you will need to unhide whatsapp chat and also to see messages from that contact that you will hide.

Do archived messages get deleted on Facebook?

Access archived messages on Facebook and Messenger You can archive messages on Facebook to put messages in a different folder, away from the main list of conversations. This organizes your conversations without deleting them, which is helpful if you don’t need to message someone, but you want to save the texts.

What does archive a conversation mean?

So in effect, archiving lets you tidy up your inbox by moving messages from your inbox into your All Mail label, so you don’t have to delete anything. … when someone responds to a message you’ve archived, the conversation containing that message will reappear in your inbox automatically!

What happens when you archive a chat on WhatsApp?

Much like when you’re emailing, archiving a conversation doesn’t delete it. The chat is still stored by WhatsApp and you can search for the group or individual again. When you get another message to the chat it reappears in your inbox with all the old messages still there. Nothing is lost at all by archiving messages.

Does archiving chats on WhatsApp save space?

Clearing chats will save you the most space in the quickest possible manner. … Note that archiving a chat simply hides it from view in the Chats tab. If you archive all of your chats, it will not reduce the amount of space WhatsApp is using because the chats are simply hidden, not deleted.

Do you get notifications for archived messages on WhatsApp?

If the user chooses to enable the feature, all Archived chats will move to the top of the chats. When the user taps on this cell and when the Archived Chats come in view, the user will be able to see a new button for ‘Notifications. … Those two options will be of ‘Notify New Messages’ and ‘Auto-hide inactive chats.

How do I retrieve an archived chat on WhatsApp?

You can manually unarchive a chat by searching for a contact name or message from that contact:In the Chats tab, tap the Search bar.Enter the name of the chat or content from the chat you want to unarchive.Swipe left on the chat you want to unarchive.Tap Unarchive.

How can I retrieve deleted messages from messenger?

Once you find the conversation, simply select it and press Unarchive Message option to unarchive it. Note: If you are on website version, go to Messages > More > Archived to find the Archived Messages option to recover deleted text messages on Facebook Messenger.

How do you know if someone archived you on WhatsApp?

WhatsApp won’t notify the other person if you archive the conversation, as it doesn’t inform them if you’ve deleted it. It also doesn’t have any effect on your online status – all archived chats will still show if you’re online.

Can I retrieve deleted hangout messages?

If you have archived hangouts messages on your Android, then you can easily unarchive them to restore them back. Here follow the steps to unarchive Hangouts archived messages on Android: On your Android phone or tablet, open your Hangouts App. Tap “Menu” located at top and then tap on “Archived”.

Can someone still message you if you archive the chat?

Can You Receive Messages from Archived Chats. Yes. Once you archive a chat, it merely hides it from the main view and nothing else. So if you receive new messages in the archived chat, you will be notified about it, and the same conversation thread will reappear in the main list.

What happens if you archive a conversation on Hangouts?

Archiving a conversation in Hangouts means that you’ll be able to close the conversation while also being able to access it at a later date.

How do I unarchive messages on Messenger 2020?

How to unarchive messages on FacebookClick the gear icon in the Facebook Messenger window. Click the gear icon. … Select “Archived Chats.” Click “Archived Chats.” Emma Witman/Business Insider.Go to the chat, and respond or react to the thread, instantly undoing the archive action and moving the messages back to your primary inbox.

Can Hangouts message trace?

With the help of this Hangouts tracker, you are allowed to remotely monitor Google Hangouts on your target’s phone. … Plus, it is fully compatible with Android and iOS devices and it works in stealth mode so that you can spy someone’s Hangouts messenger without them knowing.

Where does archive message go in Messenger?

Once you’re in the Chats screen, click the settings icon (the little gear next to the large “Messenger” label) to reveal another dropdown menu. 4. From the dropdown menu, click “Archived Threads.” You will then be taken to your archived conversations, which you can read as you like.

Why you should not use WhatsApp?

Thus, WhatsApp stores all the chats on its servers, even the messages we have deleted. This negatively affects our privacy, and the fact that messages are stored on servers should be a sign that we should be able to have real cross-platform messaging, which could soon include the app.